Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Raggedy Moth...

I found this little moth yesterday evening. It dropped to the floor when I took a book from one of the bookcases. I placed it on the windowsill in case it wasn't really dead and toyed with the idea of photographing it but it was too dark by then. Anyway, this morning I spotted that it was still there so obviously a late moth after all and thought I'd leave it and photograph it as a still-life project when I came home after work.

I turned over a few ideas in my mind on the journey and planned this one.

Noah fell asleep in the car on the way back from nursery so I had the luxury of a bit of time before I had to pick H up from school. I photographed the moth on the page of an old book and blended it with a scanned ink background I made a while back for a different project. It looked ok but it really needed something to balance the moth. I tried a few ideas but in the end what it needed, I decided, was light so I opted for a texture I found on Flickr by Les Brumes which gave exactly the balance I was looking for.

So now Noah is stirring and I have to pick H up and this evening I have a lot of work-related reading and some ironing to do but that bit of photography time has left me feeling more refreshed and ready to do battle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.