Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Q. How do you get to Carnegie Hall?

A. Practice.

The old ones are the best :-)

Someone yesterday said they were impressed that I managed to plan images and I replied that I do plan *some* images (like yesterday's) when I have the time.

Today I had zero time to plan anything, which is more the norm. I've been at work all week and the time I have in the evenings is precious and spent with my boys.

Music is such a huge part of my life. I can't imagine life without it and I'm thrilled that H feels the same way. He wanted piano lessons from age three (though he didn't get them until age six!); taught himself the ocarina and the recorder and has recently pestered for violin lessons on top.

This makes him sound like some kind of weirdo (well maybe he is a *little* bit weird ;-) and me like some kind of pushy parent. But the fact is that H lives, breathes, eats and sleeps music. There is rarely a time when he isn't listening to music, humming, singing or tapping out a rhythm. I've never had to nag him to practice and though he can be a bit of a diva if he can't 'get' a tricky bit he is hellishly persistent and just keeps going.

He's only just started proper violin lessons and is learning the basics but he absolutely loves it.

So this evening, while he was practising his new bow hold I asked if I could blip him and he (who loves being blipped...he's a diva in the making) said Of course.

What you can't see in this picture is Noah hanging on to his leg and 'singing' 'LA! LA! LAAAAAAAAA! LA! DOOO DOOOO DOOOOOOOOO!' How H manages to practice at all with that racket going one I have no idea but it doesn't seem to bother him at all.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.