Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Wastwater

I'm giving myself a couple of days off while I hoped the weather would still be good. I wanted to take lots of autumnal photos, you know, trees, bracken and low sunlight, with maybe a coastal sunset.

OK then, I'm here in West Cumbria, passing through the town where I grew up and visiting places I haven't been to since I left school. BUT WHERE IS THE SUN?

My best beach shot was not a sunset but a power station. I couldn't work out what was wrong, then I realised they'd demolished the cooling towers! That left it looking very nothingish.

Looking around we saw the gloom and rainclouds and headed for them here in Wasdale. Wastwater is always a sombre dead-end valley with steep scree dropping right down to the lake on one side so it doesn't really make much difference if it rains. The Man was sombre too as he said "Dammit!" and Blast!" or something like that. He's usually noisy with the expletives and I ignore him. This time he was quiet and staring at me, I knew something was wrong!

So, we have a generator, but neither of us has a camera battery charger with us!

Oh! Dear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.