TrishaR

By TrishaR

A Walk in the Woods

After doing some preparation work for the new carpet getting fitted on Tuesday we decided to head up the A9 to Dunkeld for a woodland walk in the Atholl Estate. The colours of the trees were fantastic and a bonus was seeing a red squirrel foraging amongst the leaves just in front of us. There were also a herd of sika (I think that's how to spell it) deer feeding in the field next to the path.

The sun came out as we neared this loch and also enjoying the autumn sunshine were four fishermen. Told me that they had caught some small pike, which they then returned to the water. I wandered up the path a bit to take this photo and heard the man shouting something about a macro, turned out it was mackerel, and Breagha had stolen one out of his bait bag! Cheeky wee b****. Worse was to come though, as she had got the scent of the mackerel, she waded through the water to reach the other fishermen's bait bag and stole another one. She came running towards me followed by the young lad wanting his mackerel back! I grabbed her by the collar, almost choking her to let go of the stinking thing. She eventually did let go and I returned it to him with two big teeth marks in the flesh! Embarassed - yes! My husband thought it was hilarious as he stood back laughing at the scene!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.