Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

Emergency Exit.

I made one from town today. It was truly rank. Murderously grim and gloomy and not good at all. Not even just flat, but just dark. I was at 1600 for pretty much the entire time, just to try to keep my shutter speed zippy enough. And there wasn't much to shoot.

Still, I pulled in more than my 32 rolls' worth and cut out earlier than I'd planned. Copped this one on the bus. Not happy with the frame, and a couple of other details, but shooting with a 35mm, with my back up against the other side bus window, I was pretty much stuck for doing anything better and keeping both ladies in frame (which is where the interest was, for me). Still, I hope it vaguely worked.

I've shot on buses a few times now, and have figured out that i'd generally be better off with a wider lens to do it. Single portraits can work with 50mm (where my 35mm translates to), but you're still pretty cramped, so it's a case of having to nail the shot first time, no real room for error, unless you want to chance creating a scene. But, for anything other than single portrait stuff, or the occasional lucky break on getting a dual when they're sitting opposite you but also next to each (as in my To The Pub blip), you're pretty much screwed without a wide angle lens. I'll bear that in mind.

Wasn't sure about today's blip. Considered blipping this (which is the other way to use 50mm focal length on a bus, tho the blurred couple were utterly perplexed after I shot that, unsurprisingly) or this or even maybe this (tho that one looks too grey to me).

The SPN Project continues in full swing. Our resident photog for the week is Nils Jorgensen who has done some seriously cool work over the years. Currently based in London, I'm finding it a great inspiration for my own street stuff. He's also incredibly cool, and has made an excellent effort to comment on the photographs submitted for his week. Seriously top grade guy and excellent street tog, well worth checking out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.