Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

Good Weather

Indeed it was for today. Unlike Martin Parr's Bad Weather, which I spent part of the day studying. That (well, the Parr legacy in general, really) and my new uber-discovery, Brian Griffin. His photobook, Work, is truly awesome. I checked a fair bit of that book, then put it to one side to keep going with the Parr before Work made my head explode. It's that good. :-)

My patron (in all things photobookish and photog history) is loaning or giving me access to so much. I'm just trying to soak it all up. I shot my blip and a few things up here before going off to read up. I think what started off as a bit of a Gilden-inspired street candid style (well, Gilden without the flash) has turned into a bit of a Gilden-inspired but if he didn't use flash and shot in colour with vaguely Parrlike processing. Interesting. The tones in this one really remind me of a handful of Parr shots I've seen (not so much the Last Resort stuff or Bad Weather stuff, tho).

The SPN Project continues at full speed. It's getting good now - we're starting to curate the pool, and shall be curating more selectively in coming weeks. But, we've also developed a shortlist of best images for each week, a daily post of an image by the photographer who issued the Instruction for that week, and some discussion on what street photography is, and image critiquing (both constructive criticism on submitted shots, and a weekly example image from an established street photographer with a discussion on what works about it, what doesn't, and why). We're also planning for the SPN Project to develop other wonderful features as the year progresses. So if you haven't started submitting yet, get to it!

I also hope to reveal the details (or some of them - all the tantalizing bits, of course) of my recent cunning planning very very soon, so keep your eyes peeled for that. It might be mega. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.