With mountains like these

By Sollergirl

Upturn

Now you may accuse me of a few false starts over the last few weeks, but I'm sure today really was it. I've been convincing myself everything is going to be o.k., but it was difficult to see deep down until I got out there. Today, albeit for just one hour, I went back to work. And what a great hour it was. Sitting by a pool in the mountains, teaching Spanish (yes, I know, those of you who know me, I'm not the best Spanish speaker, but...) to seven wonderful Norwegians, interested and funny, and delighting in the valley. They were extremely generous, and it's not often you get a round of applause at the end of a teaching session in the blazing morning sunshine and glorious countryside.

It then took me four hours to get out of the square after coffee and post office etc., by which I had an hour before the boys came out of school. The shot I thought I had from the mountains was rubbish, but who cares, because then K, the girls, the boys and I leapt on the tram to the Port to meet Scobes and Owen. They had been swimming all afternoon and were ready for curry after another rampage on the beach. What a marvellous place this is. The children found a sand alligator, a remnant from some other fabulous day, all safely within view, whilst we had a good raucous laugh. Taxis home, and a diverted whinge via a horrible farting story (was I maybe a boy in a former life? I can't think I would have found it so funny 35 years ago, let alone made one up) has left snoring boys and left over curry in the fridge.

Others from the tram trip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.