Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Ancient artichoke

Several years ago we were given three globe artichoke plants. They've thrived in our garden, and every year they produce a magnificant crop of artichokes. I know they're a delicacy, but no-one in our family really likes them that much - and they always seem a bit of a pain to prepare, so we leave them to flower - beautiful, fat, deep purple thistles, loved by hoverflies and a whole range of other insects. If I were a tidy gardener I probably should have cut back the faded heads by now, but I think they have an architectural presence and I hope that the seeds may provide a winter meal for finches.

After heavy rain in the night, the sun shone for a while, so I took the opportunity to snatch some shots in the garden, just in case. The morning sun was just bathing this artichoke gently with gold, and it was highlighted against the sedges of the pond behind. After more rain, the sun returned and we decided to take the dogs for a walk by the river. Big mistake! I saw the grey clouds in the distance and foolishly ignored them. We were almost exactly at the far end of our circular walk when the heavens opened - and by the time we got back to the car we were all soaked to the skin. So no more photos taken!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.