Nurseryweb Spider

Dolomedes minor, endemic in New Zealand

A female nurseryweb spider with her egg sac. This lady measured just over an inch from head to tail. Then you could add another couple of inches for her legs. However, when she walked onto the back of my hand lugging her baggage with her I didn't feel any weight. She was very docile, probably because she was startled by the daylight.

Later she will construct a webbing cage for the spiderlings to start their lives in.

Unfortunately, at the time she was available the sun had gone behind a cloud so I didn't capture the rich dark brown velvet stripes on her thorax, and she was hardly visible against the background. I isolated her in PhotoShop and fiddled with the background.

Best seen in large

I've been making the most of the fine weather and working in the garden. I'm getting a lot done but by evening I'm too tired think clearly. I intend catching up with you soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.