Appreciation

By Appreciation

Leave Puppydog!

These scrumptious double chocolate chip cupcakes are not for us. Much to the disgust of all. Tomorrow, my boy and his football team are at home to a team from Paisley in a Scottish Cup Tie. The home team supply after match goodies. It's a sign of how things change and where we live that we are not supplying pies and bovril. I always loved the bovril at the football matches my dad used to take me and my sister to. She loved Eric Sheidler more than the pies or bovril.

And so, with a later than usual start today, we were all tired, the activity of a somewhat hectic weekend started. My no. 1 Boy remembered that it was 17 very quick years ago today that he and I gazed with much tenderness to say 'I Do'. How I would love to have that day again. I would still say I do, but wouldn't have such a lavish do with that hideous cake!

My girl has a gymnastic display tomorrow, so had an extra last minute practice. My boy had a homework project with a pal to sort out, and I had to make several batches of cake.

I'm no master baker and always call to mind my lovely Auntie Sheila, the Queen of all Baking. She sits on my shoulder and tells me what I'm doing wrong. She was always frustrated with my 'it'll do' attitude. Baking takes time, love and precision I believe. Frankly with 22 or more hungry teenagers, I don't think they'll notice if I cut a few corners.

We are all out tonight, but I do hope we are home and in bed early because we have a big day ahead of us. By this time tomorrow we will be knackered. Must remember to keep a few cakes back for a sugar high at the end of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.