Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

The Sea!

Those of you who live close to the coast will probably think I'm barmy, getting so excited at seeing the sea, but those of us who live a more landlocked existence get rather thrilled by it!

Today was spent visiting my in-laws in Devon, supposedly for my Father-in-Law's birthday (although that was in August, so it was a bit late and he'd forgotten he hadn't had his parcels yet so was very pleasantly surprised by them), but also to spend a bit more time with them than we usually do.

The drive down was smooth and easy - no hold ups, sunshine on the autumn leaves etc. We were treated to an excellent dinner - beef stew, potatoes & beans followed by a chocolate pudding, which I hoovered up rather enthusiastically!

Then the four of us went for a drive down to Charmouth, where this picture was taken, and then back along the coast as far as Beer (great name for a place). The Wonderspouse & I went up to the water's edge and dared the sea to wet our shoes (as you do), and collected some interesting stones!

Then it was back to the in-law residence for a cup of tea before heading home. The homeward journey was rather dark and wet, but we broke the journey at Cribbs Causeway in Bristol in the search for a complicated lightbulb for the bathroom light. Nowhere was able to sell us such a lightbulb, and I'm now resorting to ordering one online - we'll have to live with a dark bathroom until then. We did pop into the giant Asda though and I bought some more of the lovely soft polo necked jumpers that they sell at an exceedingly reasonable price!

I liked this picture best out of all the ones I took. However, I very nearly blipped some pictures of my Mother-in-Law's rather fabulous dolls houses (really really miniature). However, this picture summed up the day better - so you'll have to wait for the dolls houses until another time when I can photograph them slightly better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.