Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Scratch Mitt

This, apparently, is a "scratch mitt". I'd never heard of them and didn't have the faintest idea that they existed, but they were exactly what I needed!

My other car key remote control broke the other day (the first one fell to bits a while back) and I wanted to mend it without spending a whole lot of time sewing a little pouch to put it in. I thought a sock might be good, then thought that what I needed was a small sock, perhaps a kiddies sock? Then I wondered if babies had socks (I've never dressed a baby and can't remember whether I had socks when I was one) and discovered that they did, but that they also have these little mitt things - perfect size for my car remote!

So this morning I fixed up both remotes, using scratch mitts and cable ties, and affixed them back onto my keyrings! Hurrah! And what's even better is that I have 4 scratch mitts left, should I need them for further repairs, or to keep batteries or MP3 players or headphones or anything in - all for a quid from Poundland!!!

Today has been a "relaxing" day. We started the day with the Indian Grand Prix, then moved onto last night's Strictly Come Dancing, then a taped Holby City and a taped Midsomer Murders!

I've changed most of the clocks in the house, and we'll certainly enjoy the extra daylight in the morning - the evenings don't make much difference to us, since it's dark when we get home anyway these days.

I've also gone round the house with one t-shirt sleeve rolled up so that my tattoo doesn't get rubbed, and I've diligently applied the cream I was given, with clean hands, as instructed. I'm trying to take the best care I can of it during the healing process, even sacrificing long soaks in the bath for the time being - I figure that a bit of hassle now will be worth it in the long run.

I have a few more jobs to do this evening, preparing to go back to college tomorrow and so on, but hopefully it should be fairly relaxing!

*takes deep breath ready for next 7 weeks at college*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.