55North

By cordelia

Gnarled sea treasure

This is a piece of wood that I collected on the beach in Ballantrae last year.

It was bleached white with the sun and salt originally but has darkened over time. I like the way it twists and looks different from every angle. I think it's a piece of vine that was once wrapped around a tree and has broken off then polished up in the sea. To give you an idea of scale, the piece you see here is about 150mm in diameter.

A lot of driftwood is washed up on the shore at Ballantrae. I think most of it flows down the river Stinchar and the incoming tide brings it ashore. My house and garden are home to many pieces of this gnarled sea treasure ... hazel is a particular favourite. I do wish though that they would stay as beautifully white as when they are first lovingly carried home!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.