Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

The lime tree walk at Cannon Hall

Having focused on red leaves yesterday I thought I might try yellow and orange today so I began collecting images at Cannon Hall where we met my mum, dad and brother for lunch. In the end I chose this image of the lime tree walk, even though it's a bit `soft' in focus. As I looked I could envisage an impressionist painting - the light softly diffused by the mist.

Cannon Hall is one of a series of country houses in South Yorkshire that were built from the wealth acquired on the back of poor coal miners. The house is now a museum run by Barnsley Council and the site is very popular with families because it also houses Cannon Hall Farm, a popular attraction with children.

We didn't walk too far, around the walled kitchen garden, and then just far enough for my mum to visit the `tulip tree' which apparently had been brilliant red last year - not so this year as its leaves were definitely yellow. It was good to see it cooperating with my yellow photographic scavenger hunt!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.