Appreciation

By Appreciation

Big and Bold

I have photographed this bench a number of times as a possible blip but always come to the conclusion that it will always be there and it should wait until I have no other options. That day is now.

The bench is beautiful. It is a new addition to our local park, infact there are 3 new Cherry Tree Benches. The Cherry Tree itself was planted in Novemeber 1935 by the Guide Associaition to mark the Silver Jubilee of King George V and Queen Mary. It was felled last Autumn and the larger trunks made into the benches. To maintain the link with its origin, the date has been carved into the leg of each bench.

I have tried to made it look as proud and bold as it had as a tree. I love the richness of its colour and the way it compliments the autumn shades. It's also fitting that it should be a November blip. This is the bench my girl and I sit on when we walk through the park.

My fish, who should be happy now that they have been fed, became very demanding today. Their air filter had packed up. They were up the top of the tank gasping for air and demanding attention. My girl and boy were frantic. With more than enough to do I tried to ignore them, but 30 minutes was all I could stand.

I was gifted fish in a tank from a friend who moved away and couldn't be bothered to take her fish with her. They died not long after but my children were so happy to have 'pets' that they insisted we replace them. Keeping fish is a very tricky business as Joe Bloggs can testify. I have spent hundreds of pounds on equipment and upgrades and very little on the fish stock themselves. I have however, 2 of the happiest and best looked after goldfish you are likely to find in this fair land. Who would have thought that fish could be so expensive and demanding?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.