The Next Star Is Mine

By astronick

Wanderer in the night

The sky has been wonderfully clear the last few evenings and we have been lucky to have had the International Space Station passing overhead as darkness falls. I chose a poor location last night, but tonight I went down to Nigg Bay, one of the darkest locations within the bounds of the city, and had a great view south. When I arrived, Jupiter was shining brightly over the sea and the summer triangle of stars was clear overhead. I got the cameras set up and right on schedule the space station appeared. The photo above is my favourite from the series of 30s exposures I took during the pass. It shows the trail of the space station passing above the delightful sewage treatment works in Torry.

To find out when to see the International Space Station the website Heavens-Above is a very useful resource. Select your location from the database and then get all sorts of pertinent information about events in the sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.