The Next Star Is Mine

By astronick

Offshore adventures

My job occassionally takes me offshore to survey upcoming project scopes. This week was my first visit to a Floating Production, Storage and Offloading vessel (an FPSO). I spent two nights aboard the Aoka Mizu which operates about 60km northeast of Peterhead in the Outer Moray firth.

We were incredibly lucky with the weather. The night before we arrived a large storm had passed through, causing wave heights of 9m, whilst on the morning of departure another storm was on its way with the wind already gusting to 40 knots. However, our trip was marked by calm conditions and occasional sunshine which gave some fabulous views. There isn't much time to stop for photographs but I did manage to get this one, looking west as the sun dipped towards the horizon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.