Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Blue afternoon

This is the Royal Hospital in Sunderland taken from the car park as the sun disappeared. I had taken my mother to see her sister-in-law, 96, very ill indeed. She lies in the corner of a ward packed full of beds and paraphenalia - not a comfortable environment. I won't go on about all that.

I shot the image as we were leaving. I had not realised that there was so much blue on the building, or that the cars in front of me were rather blue. It seemed to sum up how we were feeling. The hospital looked so dreary, although there were bright reflections in some windows.

Hard to know what else to say without getting on my soap box about the impossiblility of providing the best care for dying elderly people on a busy general ward.........so I will stop now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.