Hardboiled

I changed my mind mid-boil. I wanted soft boiled instead. Like Stephanie makes for me. When she lives in Germany. In 2008-2009ish.
I boiled them for one minute too long. But I love eggs, so what's the problem?
I also ate them out of shot glasses because I do not own egg cups. (Possible gift idea.)

Owl egg cups would be awesome. Though, my kitchen is getting a little overrun with the wide-eyed fowl type. It is currently about 61 degrees F in my bedroom. I like it this way. Though, for once, I am lying in my bed with the sheets over my head and a hoodie on because I'm so cold. My hands are too cold to be typing outside of the covers. Where are my gloves...

Today I was reflecting on what's been going on in my head lately. Maybe it's the endorphins talking, maybe it's the extra words I've been praying every morning as I try to convince myself it's safe to get out of bed. Either way, I'm happy where I am.
I haven't been this happy, honestly, since the summer of 2006 when I moved out to Oregon.

Sure, there are things lately that have bothered me.. such as my boyfriend leaving the state for an amazing job... Those types of things don't make me happy in and of themselves, but they don't take away from the happiness that I just feel radiating within me either. I am so thankful that I met him, had the chance to get to know him when I did, and still have the opportunity to know him even at a distance. Because of him, I know, for the first time in my sad little history, how I deserve and want to be treated. And I know, for a fact, that I won't settle for anything less than that in my life. That's a relief. It's just not an option. But that wasn't what I was going to focus on since I feel like that kind of thing might be a bit more personal than I prefer to be on the all-knowing internet.

... I am so blessed to have met the friends that I have in my graduate program. I cannot believe the validation I get about being here in Fort Worth from their presence in my life day-to-day. Brighton, Dave, and Leah. Love them. We discussed getting a house together tonight. I love that idea. It honestly reminds me of my last wonderful group of friends in Portland when we discussed all living together in one big house. But then they all got married to other people, save the two Texans.

Even though my life is not perfect.. and I spend waaayyy too much time studying and not enough time really living, I'm content where I am. I know I'm supposed to be here, doing this... and it's going to be worth it. That's the kicker.

The juice-to-squeeze ratio of putting in this hard work every single day is completely worth it. Because then I walk out of an Anatomy exam double-header and I know.. I know that I aced it.

I'm at peace. I've been living a bit more lately... sometimes I forget that the world goes on as usual even when my head is buried underneath notes and cadavers.

Listening to Obadiah Parker's version of Hey Ya. Whoa. Sweet music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.