A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Can you guess what it is yet?

I stayed in school till 7pm tonight. It was Parents' evening and although I didn't have any appointments, I stayed in school, showed my face a couple of times and worked through, prepping for yet another data driven meeting tomorrow. It was actually the best thing I could have done, because by the time I left, I left with a clear conscience, that meant that I didn't have to work at home tonight.

Quite a scary journey home, in a blizzard of leaves and other surprising debris on the motorway (cans of pop or lager, carrier bags etc), and being terrified by wagons tanking past me at speed, whilst they were swinging without much control from lane to lane due to excessively high winds. It's now late here, and Corin is outside, in the dark, in gale force winds, putting blocks of concrete on top of the roof of our carport which has been threatening to take off for the past couple of hours.

There's something about the wind that I don't like. It's a completely irrational feeling, but it's almost bordering on a fear - based upon how uncontrolled the wind is and how devastating it can be. I also don't like it because it completely unsettles teenagers! Windy day, the kids are a handful.

Although one absolute star of a student just proved today that it doesn't matter how many times youngsters spoil your day, it only takes one to make you remember why you do the job. Our Head Boy was an absolute genius today in getting me outside to a situation that was brewing, but in such a way as to NOT get any attention from other students as we all know that when there's trouble brewing, flash mobs soon appear. I couldn't have done it better myself.

So, after a long day, focussed largely again on numbers and computers, I felt the urge to do something with the other side of my brain tonight. That first of all involved me cleaning the living room. After that, I started a second canvas, one that has been in my head for a while, but that I just haven't had the chance to start. Going to take it real steady, and curb my enthusiasm, so that I don't ruin the picture in my head by being a bit 'gung-ho' with the paint brush. But, if it works out the way I hope, I know just the person who is going to receive it as a gift. If he wants it.

Right, bed time.

Night night
x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.