Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Leaf

Confined to barracks today, apart from walking the dog first thing this morning. This cold refuses to loosen its grip.

I watched Stoke City's 2-0 win against Liverpool via the Internet and that kept me occupied for a couple of hours. It was then time to think about today's blip. I knew I was going to have to go for what people call an "emergency blip".

I tried a couple of indoor shots but they didn't quite work out and so turned to the back deck. The fallen leaves were amenable to the high contrast B&W mode. And there you have it -- a leaf!

I have to report a strange phenomenon that occurred after the Stoke v Liverpool game. I was willing Stoke to score a second goal to put the result beyond doubt and, when the second goal went in, let out a loud cheer of delight. With the game over and me feeling pleased with Stoke's victory, I suddenly noticed that I could breathe easily through my nose again.

At first, I thought the cold had reach the stage where it had done its worst and this was the turning point to me getting back to good health. Alas, the respite only lasted 20 minutes or so. It would appear that my excitement and joy at Stoke's win had released adrenaline, endoprhins, or both, that temporarily eased my symptoms.

I remember a similar experience as a teenager going to a party held on New Year's Eve at someone's house. I was similarly afflicted with a cold every bit as bad as the one I have now. I was not really in a party mood. but had been looking forward to it.

However, from the moment I crossed the threshold and started mingling with the other partygoers, my symptoms subsided. Cigarettes, which hitherto had tasted absolutely dreadful, tasted fine. This reprieve lasted until the moment I got in a friend's car to leave and the cold symptoms came back with full force.

Just goes to show how the mind can effect our physical condition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.