Where art and earthquake meet

I don't know what the fate of the old building the Octagon Restaurant is, but I like the sculptural additions to the steel beams supporting the stone tower.

Two other figures aren't included here, a woman abseiling from the top and a mountain biker to the left of the guy who is flying/falling. Not even the hearty aftershocks of last night put me off musing how to get inside the cordon so I could change my angle. (It's ok Mum I didn't try ;-)

I like the idea of Christchurch embracing art and earthquake damage. We're going to have to live with it for a long time.

be@nz and another day and I spent a happy 2-3 hours drinking coffee, chatting and taking photos. I did wonder if I'd be better served having an afternoon 'nana nap' after last nights lively rattlers but I've come home feeling energised.

Today the media is reporting someone from GNS Science as saying we'll have two years of aftershocks and earthquakes. Two years! I'm hoping it's either media mis-reporting or an over excited scientist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.