LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Wintrared

Having done some reading on the whole digital IR/false colour technique I ran out with the 89B filter and took some shots along with some non IR as an overlay image. I'm not totally happy with the results but I think that is more to do with the fact that I don't hasve the correct size filter holder for the digital camera as it is used mostly on my Bronica with film. I think there was some movement during the 15" shot and some light leak causing reflections on the camera side of the filter.

In the evening we went out for a meal. First La Garrigue was full, then CAfe Marlayne was shut so third choice Mai Thai ended up getting our money. Which, frankly, was a bit of a shame. Nothing bad but there are definitely better Thai restaurants in Edinburgh based on the food we ate. The Pad Thai was especially disappointing, coming with lemon wedge rather than lime wedge and lacking in some of the other garnishes, and the presentation aspect I have come to expect was also poor. All tasty, though I'd rather have been in Dusit.

We were more appalled afterwards though when we stopped for a pint in The City Cafe. What on Earth happened to that place! Sparkly new American diner decor and bright lights everywhere were not what I expected. We didn't stay long, and it looks like very few people stay at all as there were only 3 other customers in a pub which I seem to recall was generally busy andy night of the week.

After that disappointment I took one last chance and we stopped for a couple of Wild Turkey and Cokes at The Banshee Labyrinth, much more like it. Put a smile on our faces and ended the night on a high. Will be visitng again, perhaps after buying some more black clothing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.