Rabbit plant

Only kidding... but to me it looks like a rabbit's face and ears above three petals.

This pretty little plant is growing in most of my window boxes, but it did this all by itself, without any prompting from me. I'm glad it's taken root since it's a lovely colour, especially on this grey, rainy day.

I've discovered that its real name is ivy-leaved toadflax and it was introduced to the Chelsea Botanic Gardens from southern Italy in the 17th century. The leaves can be used in salads and have a taste similar to cress (I haven't tried this!)

Its other names are mother of thousands, pennywort, Kenilworth ivy, wandering Jew, roving Jenny, Aaron's beard, climbing sailor, ivywort, pedlar's basket, thousand flower, Oxford-weed, rabbits (I was right!) and plant of the Madonna.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.