Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Autumn into Winter: Sunset in the Park

So dull and dark are the November days.
The lazy mist high up the evening curled,
And now the morn quite hides in smoke and haze;
The place we occupy seems all the world.
~John Clare, November


A few days ago I walked along the edge of the lake and was treated to the crunch and rustle of leaves
with each step I made. The acoustics of this season are different and all sounds, no matter how hushed,
are as crisp as autumn air.
~Eric Sloane


It is the middle of November
It is cold
Already I long for spring
Already I regret moaning
at the site of daffodils
everywhere I looked

Now it rains
and rains
and rains
and in the brief intervals
I see soggy leaves

Leaves of summer
beaten into submission
by winds of winter
~Me

This a photo of a sunset taken on a walk with Dixie during one of the brief intervals...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.