Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Faster than the speed of light

Although this is a rubbish photo today, it poses a question.

I was trying to get a shot of some wagtails in my garden but every time I took a shot they flew off. I think this was because I was using a powerful flash as its grey and nasty out today. The problem is that in each of the shots the bird is already moving when the shutter is open. Now I am no physicist but as the flash is travelling at the speed of light from the camera to the bird and so is the light getting back to the camera, doesnt the bird have to be going faster than that to be moving in the picture.

Possible answers,

The bird has ESP and knows I am about to take the photo ?
I am moving at the speed of light and this is Doppler shift ?
The Laws of Physics are more flexible that Einstein predicted ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.