I AM LANDLORD

I had to fulfil my first landlordly maintenance-duty this evening, which made me remarkably nervous in the usual having-to-meet-people sort of way with the added potential for weirdness caused by them being in the flat we were in for nine and a half years, and also by having keys but having to ring the bell to be let in and so on. It was only to fit some draught exclusion to the front door (using two devices which were sitting in the boiler cupboard where they'd been since their temporary de-installation several years ago) but it was a start. Next week I shall return, armed with a few cavity toggles (of which there were none in the bagful of random draught-excluder-brush-compatible-screws-and-bits I brought up and dumped in the downstairs hallway cupboard yesterday) in order to tighten the shower-nozzle-holding-rail-thing and also with some string, to attach to the shower circuit breaker pull-string. I also got round to sticking new tubes in the hallway light, which they weren't expecting but which will hopefully be beneficial for them and the replacement tenant for Captain Fuckwit next door, who appears to have recently moved out, hopefully meaning that our tenants will not be menaced by drunken arsewits discussing attempting to gain entry to the adjacent flat by force at four in the morning over new year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.