Life-jacket sculpture

It isn't that I'm especially busy, even though I should be. It's just that I've had other things occupying me and that's why I've fallen behind with uploading to Blipfoto. I've now finally backblipped Slice of Dublin life (Saturday), Blustery (Sunday) and Killing jobs (Monday).

Today's blip comes from Dún Laoghaire again. I'd left a package behind in the pub on Sunday and needed to replace it, so I did the usual and walked to the DART and got the train over rather than driving. It was chilly enough, but still I managed to fit in a bit of a walk along a breakwater I didn't even know existed. This sculpture is at one end of it. Its title is Commemorative Tower to the Hobblers, and it's by scluptor Fiona Mulholland. A commemorative plaque has this to say:

'Hobbler' was the term used to describe those who ensured safe passage and mooring for large boats coming into an unfamiliar harbor.

This sculpture is dedicated to the memory of all Hobblers including those men who lost their lives in the line of duty in Dublin Bay.


The idea of reproducing life jackets and piling them up to form a tower is okay in itself, but I can't say I find the end result sculpturally convincing. Still, it was irresistibly blippable, especially with the evening light shining on it the way it was. I know this selective colour thing is a bit of a cliché, but still I couldn't resist taking that route.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.