Couple in bronze

I'm not really on a sculptural binge. It's pure coincidence that the best shot from this afternoon's visit to the National Botanic Gardens (or "The Bots" as it's affectionately known to Dubliners) was once again a sculpture. There are lots of pieces scattered around the gardens, some good, some fair, some poor. This was the most satisfying of those I came across during my short ramble in the speedily fading evening light.

It had been an active day in terms of getting out and about. I'd made an appointment to meet one of the Music Group guys this morning. He's in the final throes of having work done on his house and was anxious to get away from it all for a bit. We met in Tillie's café which is near where he lives in Clontarf. I'd normally drive over there, but set out today with the intention of walking at least part of the way and ended up doing the entire trip on foot. I cheated on the return leg, continuing on to the Clontarf seafront and getting buses back home, but still it was a good old slog.

It was because I didn't have the camera with me then that I went out again virtually as soon as I got home, this time taking the car and the camera. Despite a frosty start to the day and dire warnings about further freezing temperatures during the day, it was actually quite pleasant being out and about - and I felt well satisfied with the amount of exercise I managed to fit in. Hopefully I'll sleep well tonight as a result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.