horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Go around! Go around! You are NOT cleared for land

Not the best, technically speaking, photo of the day, but the funniest. And it also saves you a second day in a row of Isla (who spent most of the night on the bed, and most of today following us around the house and playing and just looking pretty (easy when you're so damned small, she's tiny!) - you could say she's settling in well).

A wee Figgy walk in the snow brought about three other contenders, being Splashdown, Icy Landing, and a shot of a Black Headed Gull that I just like.

Always fun to pop out in the car on days like these (after fully assessing whether it's safe to do so) and see drivers in SUVs and that "I've got four wheel drive, I'm invincible" attitude almost lose the car completely at a mere 10mph being lucky to avoid a bollard shaped dent in the front, while I'll happily make my way about in my wee Mini. Although it would have been good if our 'Snow Socks' for the car had arrived when they were supposed to in order to give them a wee try today.

I've had friends whingeing about the snow, and I guess I can see some of their points, but I just love it. It's maybe that my life isn't really affected badly by the snow (I'm really really looking forward to riding to work tomorrow on the mountain bike); and also partly down to the fact that as a kid I suffered horribly from Reynauds, which meant I couldn't stay out any longer than 30 minutes or so without being in awful pain. As I've got older and fitter, well I can stay out almost as long as I want these days, and try to take advantage of that whenever we get covered in the white stuff.

Anyway, it has been a good day, a great day, and I'm now off to make a Christmas Pud, and some rowies.

Ready to Pounce

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.