Barking

By Barking

Waimakariri

I had a lovely night out with B and the girls last night and was home by 10 pm.

Canterbury, Cousteau and I had a leisurely breakfast at Va Voom (a café near us). Cousteau was provided with a bowl of water and was an angel throughout.

Then we caught up with B and Mk for a coffee. Mk is looking so grown up at 10. I can't believe I've known her since she was only 18 months old. She's a great kid.

Then we walked Cousteau down at the Waimakariri (meaning: cold water) River for an hour or so. He loves splashing around in the water but we had to pull him away a few times as jet boats came screaming past. We also saw two horses, two four-wheel drives and several inflatable lilos knocking around the place. I've never seen it so busy.

Sadly, despite that fact that it's a valued resource which is used for a diverse range of activities by locals, there are plans afoot to reduce the flow of water in order to irrigate nearby land for dairy farming (mostly). As the dairies are such big business here, we can only hope and pray that the plans do not go through any time soon.

Anyway, I took quite a few shots, but this one of my lovely boy won. I realised that this is the first time I've blipped him this month! About time then.

Hope you're all having a great weekend.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Check out: A New NZ blipper

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.