Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Since 28th July 2010 my journal has been documenting the construction of a wind farm in the Terra Alta region of Catalunya, Spain. We own and live in a Mas (finca) which is on the line of the wind turbines, and will have two of the beasts within 300 metres of our home.

~ 0 ~

Doh! We missed the erection of the first section of the wind turbine in front of our Mas the day before yesterday, and this morning we found that we'd also missed the second section going up. I took the dog and his breakfast up to the roof terrace of the village house... and could see the turbine mast from there!

So I've walked back to the Mas, with Jasper obviously, in the hope that the third section will go up later today. In the past, while watching the erection of the turbines further away from us, we've seen them put up two or three sections in a day, so I'm staying here until it's up... sorry Steve, you might have to get your own dinner!

I don't know if you can see, because I can't do BIG, but the blades are already attached to the nosecone. They're obviously going to lift it all in one piece, although I'd have thought it was too windy today. Oh, just had a thought, maybe it's too windy for the third mast section?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.