Compulsive satisfaction...

I realized over the past two days that clearing ice from my street (see yesterday's social experiment) has a combination of therapeutic compulsions that occur in two other activities.

Firstly, there is the weeding comparison. It is something I could do with not having to carry out but once I start, I just go on and on a lot longer than I ever intended in the first place.

Secondly, there is the scab picking comparison. It's really good managing to crack a really large chunk of ice and lifting it all in one right off the road. It very similar indeed to waiting for that prime maturation point when a scab can come away from your skin all in one chunk.

Apologies if I put anyone though any unnecessary scab method over-description. As a skateboarder for the best part of my life, it is something that becomes a bit of a ritual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.