The Lizard Meanders

By lizardmeanders

Reliquarios

The youngest daughter (especially) is most fascinated when I do occasional inventory of stuff I brought back "from the old country".

I didn't bring very much with me-- a few pieces of jewelry from my mothers, little odds and ends that may not have much cash value, but have enormous nostalgic appeal for me; some sepia photographs which I cherish (I wish I had brought more), a box of books with crumbling spines, a piece of bamboo on which a poem has been etched in the ancient Mangyan script (will Blip this in future) ...

Here are a few of my treasures: on left, two "Tamburin" Reliquario Reliquary necklaces that women often wore in 18th century colonial Philippines-- one in gold, the other in silver (with an accompanying Paineta or filigreed hair-comb ornament; and on the right, a beaded necklace made by the T'boli in southern Mindanao, with a carved carabao shell pendant adorned with brass hawk bells; these tinkle softly and drive away bad spirits as the wearer goes about her daily business.

This arrangement, for me, makes a kind of visual compression of the mix of colonial and indigenous influences suffusing much of Filipino culture.

The intricate hand-crocheted runner beneath, was a Christmas gift three years ago from my dear friend Pinky-- and the handiwork of one of her maiden aunts from Bacolod.

And there is a little square of Tinalak bark cloth, also from the T'boli tribe.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.