The Lizard Meanders

By lizardmeanders

Divination

Cleaning up some clutter in my office this afternoon before I left, I decided to snap a photo of part of a framed reproduction I have of Filipina artist Brenda Fajardo's Tarot Card series.

The two that I chose for this Blip show, on left, Card X, Kapalaran (Fate, or The Wheel of Life); and on right, Card XI, Katatagan (Fortitude, or Courage).

One certainly needs to muster the resources, the gumption, the balls-- to sit astride the beast every day; and to use everything one has to stare down its maw and show it who's boss.

Don't you just love how, in her visualization of courage, Brenda has chosen quite an ordinary person (a peasant girl, unshod at that) to go mano a mano with the lion of destiny?

Onward we go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.