justgeoffrey

By justgeoffrey

more-flow

A life with flow is a story well told.

I'm following the idea of flow - living in one's sweet spot - as I picture things this week.

I'm reading Robert McKee's Story at the moment, a seminal work on story-writing for film.

McKee offers a description of a poor script, which I thought could also be describing the life we want to avoid: It's a lifeless collection of predictable, ill-told, and cliched episodes that wander off into a pointless haze.

What he says of a good script is a description of a good life: Your goal must be a good story well told.

The well told-ness is flow.

I love hearing people's stories of flow, when passions and amazing abilities line up in lives are daily explorations of these things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.