Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Walking the line

Turned on my way out to my car tonight when leaving work. This is what I saw. This is what I snapped.

It reminds me of my day. I just keep walking the line.

I received a call from our Human Resources department letting me know that the screening committee for the position I applied for will not be recommending any of the candidates for hire at this time. They may be re-advertising the position later in the spring and will keep my application on file. Really? I waited 3 months for an interview and this is what I get? Wow.

Me thinks that's a bit of a slap in the face really. If I'm not good enough for this run, why would I be good enough in the next??? So that decision was made for me. Sigh.

I've struck this out, because it was a little more whiny than I prefer. But I want to keep it to remember how I felt at the time. Plus I feel so much better for getting it off my chest.
How can we continue to run a college business program with only one instructor? Who will advise all 250 students still left with no advisor? Why do we run a business this way? Oh wait....I run a department at the same college with less staff than 10 years ago but am required to process twice the amount of applications. A month ago, there was over $650,000 sitting in a drawer, but I don't have the staff to process it. Do I get staff? No, I get consultants (who I did love by the way...just being grumpy). I think I might write a book entitled, "How NOT to run a business," because I'm going on 16 years of experience.

On a less blubbering note, I want to THANK ALL who commented on my emotional blip yesterday. He is still too excited and can hardly wait for those glasses. Your stories and comments made me feel so much better. You are truly an AMAZING group of people blipworld. :)

P.S. A friend of mine just said how this reminded her of Abbey Road. Now THAT would have been a cool shot. Wish I'd thought of it before...I'll save it for another time. That would be fun to set up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.