Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Ethel

My oldest goose.
I started with two in 2000, they were Stanley and Ethel . Sadly the fox got Egbut the first son of Ethel and then he came back the next night and killed Stanley. I found him, having put up a fight across the field, feathers everywhere, just his beak and and feet... the carcass picked clean. It was raining hard that morning as I went to feed up, Ethel was stood proud, calling in a way I hadn't heard before, as I looked around I realised Stanley was missing. My heart broke when I found his remains, I stood in the rain and cried for both Ethels and my own loss.

I support the Hunt, always have. If I never see a fox again it won't bother me, you have to have witnessed what they do to be able to understand how I feel.

Ethel was of an unknown age when I got her, she looks quite old now.
She stills lays eggs and indeed one of this years goslings is definately hers.

Geese, like swans mate for life. It was a sad day, 8yrs ago.
She seems happy enough with her new mate tho' he's called Herbert and is a roman something cross.

Have a lovely day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.