Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Mexican "creche"

Time for some christmas nostalgia. :-) In 1950, at 4:00 in the dark morning near Chicago, my aunt and uncle arrived, having driven from Mexico City where they were living. We were so excited to see them safe and sound in the snowy "north". And they brought treasures! I was 10 (I know, do the math.....) and I remember to this day unpacking all these wonderful Mexican figures - so many shepherds, and oxen and sheep and the 3 wise men on a camel, a horse, and an elephant! (why not?) They are a little the worse for their age, and we haven't gotten them out every single year but we keep gluing and patching. And now, it warms my heart to see Tatum who can't wait to carefully unpack each fragile figure with great care and place them on the buffet. ("but why are there so very many shepherds? and why does the baby jesus look like he's 4 years old?")

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.