Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Carousel

Despite yesterday's disappointment, I went back to the Christmas Market again today. The atmosphere was much the same as yesterday, and I still didn't see anything which looked like a likely gift for anyone on my list. I tried some more blips while I was there, and more or less decided that something from there would end up as my blip for the day. I also really wanted to see how things were progressing at Grand Canal Square, but despite a good old wander down one side of the Docks, up the other and back again to fit in a trip to the Square, the Market blip still won out. Grand Canal Square certainly looks as if it will be a remarkable addition to the Dublin cityscape, especially now that work has begun on the Liebeskind Grand Canal Theatre, but I'll need a good bit more practice with the new camera before I'll be able to do it justice (especially after dark).

I did manage to get some productive shopping done after my wander, so at least the shopping list isn't as long as it was when I set out. More of the same tomorrow, probably.

LATER EDIT: Carl finally sorted himself out and cleared getting time off to join us (the Music Group gang) in Zurich next year (beginning of May), so he and I have now booked our flights (I long ago booked tickets for opera and concert performances). While I was at it I was unusually decisive and decided to take Aer Lingus up on an email offer -- a 72-hour sale ending at midnight tonight with flights on 20 European routes from 28 euro one-way including taxes and charges. In addition to having to book by midnight, the other condition was that travel had to be between 8th January and 12th March. I don't usually follow up on these time-limited offers, but for some reason I was instantly tempted by this one. I equally instantly took a fancy to Nice as my preferred destination, and pushed the buy button before going in to town. So I'm off to the South of France from 5th to 8th March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.