Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Afternoon silhouette

At long last I got some Christmas shopping done. It took a while to rouse myself and get out of the house, but I did it eventually and went in to town with the intention of strolling round the Christmas Market in George's Dock. Called The 12 Days of Christmas this year, it features the traditional mix of food & drink (mulled wine, bratwurst, crepes) and craft, gift and jewellery stalls. It only opened at noon today, and was still getting going when I got there. All I got at the actual market was a glass of mulled wine and a nice Christmasy crepe, but then I ventured next door into CHQ, a refurbished 19th Century warehouse building which is now home to a gallery of up-market shops. That's where I found Bunnies by the Bay, where I got a gorgeous, cuddly bunny for Carl's fifteen-month-old niece.

I blipped furiously all the time I was at the Market and in and around CHQ, but nothing from that lot struck me as strongly as this shot I took as I walked to the Docklands from the car park. This is the Custom House, silhouetted against the late afternoon sky. What actually caught my eye was the strange line of bright white spots which stretched across the sky (I presume it's the dying remnants of an airplane vapour trail, but it looked very strange indeed), and I couldn't resist the camera's tugging at its case insisting to be lifted and pointed. I've blipped the Custom House dome before, though only reflected. Now it's done in silhouette I guess all that's left is to show it some time in its full glory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.