The Hub

The kitchen table.
Meeting place to discuss the day.
Craft table - where I paint and make Christmas Cards, with my magic glue gun and guillotine.
Work table - where James and I sit together, whilst he does his homework, gets frustrated to the point of tears sometimes, then the lightbulb comes on and all is well again.

Tonight, it was correcting his incorrect or missed answers from the two SATS papers he recently sat. He got a level 4 - so I am very very proud of him. Some of the questions got my brain stretching - only because the phrasing of the questions was, at times, confusing and ambiguous. However, once we unpicked them, my young lightning minded genius figured it all out. It's just horrible to watch him get so stressed. We have a strategy for when he is in his next test - he has to think about what I would say to him if we were working on a question together for homework. we'll see if that helps or hinders.

Anyway, I procrastinate - I have many Christmas cards to write and sitting here isn't going to do them. Shame.

Tomorrow night - school panto.

Today - the boy who drew a pair of glasses on his face when he was asked why he hadn't brought his own. Saw him but only found out the story behind the badly drawn boy much later in the day! Working with youngsters is sometimes hard, often very fulfilling, occasionally heartbreaking, and sometimes, on special days, just downright hilarious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.