Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Death Came In The Night

With temperatures well below freezing last night and a wind chill taking them down to the equivalent of the upper teens, those plants not protected suffered a tragic fate.

This stand of elephant ears has featured in some of my close-up leaf shots in sunnier times. I had to visit the location to see what damage had been wreaked. As you can see it is a sorry sight. And the lone survivor, stripped of the cover provided by its former companions, will suffer a similar fate tonight.

It was actually a little warmer today walking out and about. The biting wind of yesterday was no longer in evidence but after 30 minutes of wandering round my hands were chilly. It should be a little warmer tomorrow and then back to normal on Thursday with a high of 64 degrees.

Contrary to what you are thinking, this shot is not an in-camera B&W conversion. I slaved over a hot Photoshop and Silver Efex Pro to get the desired result.

P.S. I managed to beat Amundsen to the fresh raspberries and blueberries at the supermarket. But someone did beat me to the best of the grapes. :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.