Mulling it over

The spices for mulling some wine. Never got round to it this evening though. That's for tomorrow night - end of term celebration!

It's been an up and down day today, and despite some positives, I can't help but feel that I am feeling far too 'down' for my own good right now.

Went to see physiotherapist this morning. She manipulated my knee/leg in a similar, but more attentive, fashion to the Doctor last week - when I yelped and jumped off the bed at one particular movement, both her and the lovely junior Doctor who was there said "Oh, that's your medial ligament". Phew - so I haven't been imagining the excruciating pain then! She then proceeded to describe to me exactly the problems and pain that I have been experiencing, when it is worse etc etc. It would appear that the likely cause was me kneeling down to get something off a low shelf in our office at home a few weeks back - I felt something go pop and I couldn't put any weight on the leg for the rest of the evening. Fortunately though, I seem to have done the right thing at the time - elevating, ice etc.

So, 6 to 8 weeks to repair / heal. I am 4 weeks into that period, which would explain why it is feeling a little better these last couple of days. I have to massage it across the ligaments to spread any scar tissue and I have exercises. I also had 10 minutes of ultrasound this morning.

20 minutes with the lovely lady and I felt much better, simply for knowing WHAT the problem was and not being dismissed out of hand.

In other news, today has been a day where I have questioned why I bother. Rather a lot. I think it is "end-of-term-itis" but I am feeling distinctly jaded and more than a little fed up with attitude, argument and poor manners.

I have been pondering changes of direction.

I have also been pondering a change of final destination completely.

I have spent far too much time in Asda the last couple of days. I have become a personal shopper for someone I think.

The best bit of the day? Finding a message from my wonderful cousin on my phone at lunchtime to ask if James and I wanted to go to Anfield on Saturday to watch Liverpool play Fulham. James is absolutely thrilled! We will wrap up warm, and take a flask full of hot chocolate and James will get to see his first live football match.

The second best bit? Watching the highlights of the 3rd Ashes Test from Perth. Mr Ponting is mastering the look of "Leave me alone, I'm chewing a wasp". A joy to behold.

With that, I am off - it will be an early rise in the morning as the car is going to take some defrosting I think.

Night all.
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.