In your honour

Back blip as I got in so late I couldn't conceive of posting a blip!

Tonight was our staff Christmas do, but more importantly it was the Retirement party for a much loved and respected colleague, who started teaching in 1971, but who started teaching at our school in 1974 -35 years in our school (in its various guises over the years).

The students made a wonderful and very touching presentation to him in school assembly yesterday - relating some stories about the impact he had had upon them. They organised to raise money for a present and were able to buy him a motorised golf bag buggy - something he appreciated but never would have bought for himself. The assembly was topped off with a beautiful rendition of "When a child is born" by one of our students who has the most wonderful voice.

The preparations for Denis's leaving party have been going on for months. They started, I think in September, when I pleaded for assistance from blip-land in trying to locate TV programmes from the 1970's via the BBC. With the help of two blippers, I was able to hunt the two episodes of Its a KNockout/Jeux san frontiers out - Denis's face was an absolute joy to see as we played him some clips from the DVDs last night with him running around, playing silly games and lurking around Stuart Hall - I don't think he has seen the episodes with him in it since they aired in 1979! Hence the moustaches and wigs - whilst Denis was saying his thank you's, before the clips were played, the Senior team got dressed in their special t-shirts (ironing transfers front and back is a pain in the a***), and seventies wigs and taches, in Denis's honour! Somewhere there will be a photo - me in my black cocktail dress with an extra large white t-shirt, no shoes (and I am small without my shoes on!) and the extra hair. I looked tiny next to the rest of the senior team!

I'd spent time recently engaging in a level of subterfuge and plot with Denis's family to collect photos together to make into a scrolling presentation for the evening and also into a photobook for him. The book has been signed by the staff, with personal messages in - I think today when he has time to catch his breath, he will enjoy mooching through the book.

it was a wonderful evening, with emotional speeches, lots of photographs (not by me though - I was off duty!) and time spent quietly watching a man for whom I have so much respect for and who has supported me so much in the last seven years - I will miss him so very much, like so many others.

And despite not having a DROP to drink, I have got up to take James to school this morning with what feels like a hangover. And I can't make the blip meet today because the people are coming to insulate the house at lunchtime. Happy Days - maybe back to bed for half an hour?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.