Man in the Tropics

By manintropics

Day 15

Rule #16 Beware of being in the wrong place at the wrong time

Well, there I was, just tucking into my bread and jam for breakfast when out of the blue came a humming bird at full speed, flying low through the breakfast hut, straight for me. How it missed me I shall never know but boy do they move fast. An auspicious start to the day!

So off we walked along the beach to our usual spot, and we made camp and settled down to watch the world go by. Today, when we arrived, it was getting towards full tide. Now what that meant was that all the crabs came out to forage (or whatever crabs do). as the tide continued to come in, so the crabs (and there were lots of them) moved nearer to us. Feeling increasingly uncomfortable, being 'kettled' by crabs, I eventually could stand it no longer. Desperate times calls for desperate measures. So I made an adrenalin fuelled jump over the crabs and into the sea, with the perverse logic that if all the crabs were on the beach, they wouldn't be in the sea. (This is the same logic that I use trying to master killer sudukus - obviously with little success!). However, the sea was rough today, some big waves, so it was the case of out of the frying pan and into the fire. J, as ever, swam straight out to sea. I did remind her (as she ploughed out to sea) that the next landmass was Africa, to which I received a reply that if repeated would get me banned from this site. I mentally rehearsed my bronze level life saving techniques (achieved in 1975) but thankfully did not need them as we were both eventually washed ashore.

well, after all that, it was time for a cold beer at the lobster shack and then, before long, time for the trip back for coke and cake.

Today's photo is what is on the menu tonight - as ever it is delicious and we are looking forward to tucking in

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.