Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Sunday Showdown

Ok so it's going up on a Monday as a backblip. Why? Because my internet connection is abysmal. I sat from 2pm yesterday until gone midnight trying to put this online. In between I did other stuff, get my tree out the loft and run a few errands for my Mum. Still by the time I went to bed I couldn't bring you the story of Sunday showdown.

Originally Sunday Showdown started as a once a week game of Pro Evolution Soccer against my housemate and future brother in law Jake. We played for about six months before my relationship with his family deteriorated and I moved out. There the showdown died.

Then my mate Kirky moved up here from Suffolk and started the tradition up again, only this time with the infinitely better FIFA11. Here you see the small trophy we award for this once a week game.

Showdown rules are simple, one nominated game against each other takes the title. We have a seeding system as well meaning a win one week ensures you have a slightly worse team the week after. I think Kirkys highlight was three weeks ago where he (as AC Milan) beat me (as Lincoln) by 3-0. Immediately after I (as Chesterfield) beat him (as Arsenal) by 7-1, still a showdown record.

Last night? Well thats the sad part. Three times a week I get a text or a call seeing what I'm up to. Last night, nothing. I text him to find out what was occuring, and he replied with 'we've bought an Xbox today so probably won't be round'.

At least I know what I was wanted for. Also, at least I retained the trophy last time out. It was a thrilling last game with Plymouth Argyle netting three times and England only managing two.

Now I've rambled on pointlessly on a back blip that will get about 10 views and a comment, its on with todays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.