Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Callum's baptism

Callum is baptized is Saint Monica's church. As a communal baptismal for other parishioners, he did his very best in letting everyone know he was there. From the baptismal font, he emerged with the greatest smirk on his face.

Thanks to friends Vivian and Peter and their girls for braving the awful weather and floods, and Auntie Angie and cousin Barrie and night nurse Jenn (who took this lovely shot even though she's terrified of my camera).

Callum was dressed in this lovely white ensemble adorned with crosses and Reuben looked dashing and dapper in a trilby hat, pinstriped waistcoats and trousers.

He played with his new rosary beeds during the service, perhaps not reciting his Hail Marys and Our Fathers, but showing reverance.

I can't wait to celebrate Christmas mass here now.

And the weather, torrential rain solidly for 4 days now without respite lead to my perfectly straightened hair turning back into its frizzy busy mummy look. Well at least that way the boys could better recognise me, hey...

But at least I won't have to feel jealous of you all back in the UK for much longer. Whilst sadly I've had to postpone my trip back during to the obvious risks and the chance of meeting my friends Sarah Mog70 and Sara Twinkles, the boys' sleigh has arrived just in time for the rains to stop so we can take a short drive up to the mountains and what will be incredible snow.

The baptism of my boys is an event that I looked forward to for so many, many years. Welcome to the Catholic church, sweet Callum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.