I am rosco

By iamrosco

Stop dripping

Wish I could tell my nose that. It is baltic, I mean really cold but we get on with it here in Scotland. Why the obvious point you ask? I get home from work today (ugh, a week off and you really feel that first day back) and find a BBC News Special on the bad weather that has ground the UK to a halt.

* shoulder tapping the newsreader (who is trying her level best to dramatise this) * It's been like this for a few weeks up here and we seem to be doing ok. Yes, the trains and buses are a bit erratic, and no, the trams still ain't running, but we're open for business. All, I guess, except the bl**dy couriers who have yet to deliver multiple christmas presents, some ordered as long as over a fortnight ago. Oh well, I'm sure I'll survive. Enough of that rant though, I really don't need to revisit that. Back to the original point, why are the people doing VTs for the news so angry: we're not being told anything - what is there to tell, you can see the masses of snow for yourself; the roads are terrible - once again, you can see the masses of snow can't you; I've been waiting here for 5,7,13,24etc hours - yup, it's a pain, but hey loads of snow tends to disrupt things; the airport hasn't offered me a hotel - that's what insurance companies are for; when is it going to end... Come on people. Maybe I have a cold, callous heart, or maybe I've just heard a string of complaints, non of which would make it through a common sense filter. And they are making a News Special out of it. If only I knew someone who worked at the BBC...

On the plus side, myself and L's attempts at some homemade fair for christmas have worked out pretty well. Now I just need to make sure they last til the weekend...

And for a cryptic end: Tiger Uppercut (that's a taster of my evening victory)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.