Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Winter Solstice Sun

On a day dominated by celestial events (full moon, lunar eclipse and winter solstice) I felt my blip should reflect some aspect of that.

It started with a full lunar eclipse, as very well documented by many other blips today, my favourite being this one.

our shadow ~ rising like a grey mist ~ up the moon ~ only snow peak remains ~ then melts

I had a great view of the eclipse from an upstairs room, with it becoming full (08:16) just before the sunrise (08:23) and moonset (08:32). I think this enhanced the poetry of the moment - the moon didn't come back after being swallowed by the shadow. Only now has it just popped up again (16:00).

solstice moon eclipsed ~ as sunrise brightened the sky ~ shortest day too long

I struggle to capture moon shots with my compact, but I did manage this fuzzy, grainy image as a memento of the event

In the end, I've selected a shot of the Sun on the shortest day. I should say equal shortest day of the year, as today and tomorrow are both 7 hrs 24 mins and 46 secs long in Bradford. This was taken 20 minutes after sunrise, just as I headed off down the edge of the moor on my way to the station.

The Winter Solstice is just a few hours away (23:38), may you have a peaceful one.

December Solstice ~ long Northern night ~ long Southern day ~ same planet ~ may it be peaceful

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.